Discovery Bay (Whale World)

Whale World

 Discover - Relax - Explore

 Historic Whaling Station - Australian Wildlife - Botanic Garden

From viewing the skeleton of a whale to being able to walk on an original whale catcher the Historic Whaling Station is a  place steeped in whaling history. The   site was formerly the Cheynes Beach Whaling Station which has been lovingly restored to teach us about its past.

Make sure you allow plenty of time to go on the guided tour and spend time in the old whale oil tanks that have been converted to a cinema to watch the 4 informative films. Plenty to explore for all the members of the family.

You can pack a picnic lunch or visit the Whalers Galley Café to fill up before tackling the Botanic Gardens and Wildlife Centre.

 

Continue Reading

Patrick Taylor Cottage museum, 37-39 Duke Street

Patrick Taylor Cottage

Phone: (08) 9841 5403

Admission: $2 per person; groups by negotiation; tours available by prior arrangement.

Facilities: Wheelchair access most areas; postcards, souvenirs and history books for sale.

Open: 11am to 3pm daily (1pm to 3pm on Anzac Day). Closed Christmas Day and Good Friday.

Patrick Taylor Cottage is the only building surviving from Albany's earliest days as a military outpost called Frederickstown, founded by Major Edmund Lockyer on January 21, 1827. When prominent early settler Sir Richard Spencer arrived in Albany in 1833 to take up his position as resident magistrate at the Old Farm, Strawberry Hill, the cottage was one of the three ‘miserable houses’ mentioned in his records. It is also the oldest surving dwelling in Western Australia.

Continue Reading

Dog Rock, Middleton Road

Dog Rock
Dog Rock is a great stop for a photograph. This large granite out crop juts out from the ground right alongside Middleton Road in the shape of a dog’s head.
 
In 1921 the council of the day proposed to demolish the rock so they could widen the road but this was quickly squashed with petitions and protests.
 
The dog’s collar was painted on in 1938 as it was believed to be a hazard being so close to the road.
 
In 1973 the rock was classified by the National Trust.
 
The Noongar people of the area know Dog Rock as “Yacka” which means wild dog tamed.
 

Continue Reading

Brig Amity, Albany Historical Precinct, off Princess Royal Drive

Brig Amity

The Brig Amity is a full size replica of the original brig that sailed into Frederickstown now known as Albany on Boxing Day 1826.

This replica was built in 1976 and sits a few hundred metres from the original place that Major Edmund Lockyer and his party arrived. It was built to coincide with the 150th Anniversary of this event.

The original Brig Amity was wrecked on an unchartered sand bank in Bass strait in 1845.

The Brig Amity is open to the public and while wandering on board spare a thought for the 50+ men, sheep, pigs and 6 month’s worth of stores that would have been crammed on board.

Guided tours are available.

Continue Reading

Albany Convict Gaol, cnr of Stirling Terrace and Parade Street

Gaol4

Albany Convict Gaol has seen many uses in its lifetime. It was first built 1852 as a Convict hiring Depot. Convicts that were transported here from England over an 18 year period were housed here with the idea of rehabilitation.

In 1872 the gaol was extended and was converted to a public Gaol.

In 1922 the public gaol came under the Police jurisdiction and was finally closed in 1940.

For the next 20 years it was used as storage for the Public Works Department before the Albany Historical Society took it over in the early 1960’s for its base.

The Gaol has been fully restored and offers guided tours both day and night.

Continue Reading

albanygateway.com.au logoalbanygateway.com.au