The Earl of Spencer Historic Inn, cnr of Spencer Street and Earl Street
The Spencer Inn was established by Richard Nesbitt in 1874 as a boarding house and named after Albany’s first Government Resident Richard Spencer.
Ten years later the inn acquired a beer and wine licence and continued to operate as a public house until 1925 when it was de-licensed and converted into a grocery shop, owned and managed by the Nesbitt family until 1978.
In 1988 the building was extensively renovated and re-named The Earl of Spencer Historic Inn. It boasts open fireplaces, a beer garden and oozes rustic charm making it a very popular restaurant and watering hole.
For further information, phone 9847 4262.